TecAmp Puma 1000 and S212 Review

OK – So I had my first gig with the TecAmp rig on Sunday arvo. My regular coverband – playing mostly rock stuff from the 70s – today. I rock up and show it off to the guitarist and he asks, “will that little thing be loud enough?”. I turn around and inform him that I am running the Puma 1000 bridged at 1000W @8ohms, I think it’ll be fine.

I plug in and have a little play with my “home” settings – basically, a tiny bit of boost on the lows and low mids. Everything else flat. The bottom end is quite boomy so I set the head flat and decide to just run the EQ from my Stingray 5.

The sound was just magical. Obviously, plenty of lows and mids, super punchy (something that had really been missing from my Schroeder setup) and clear highs – sounded esp great on some of those Duff Mckagan fills in Paradise City.

I sent Jon at Thump Music a message after the gig saying how I had found the sound that I have been searching for for a long time. It had all the lowend and punch that I have been craving since I sold my Labsystems monster cabs (410HPX and 210HP) and still all that clarity in the highs that I loved about my Schroeder cabs. The very light S212 cab just nailed it.

I got a few comments from the crowd about how great it sounded, including Bassman_Panta (Matt) who came down to check out the gig – and has seen my rig evolve over the last year or so. He commented on how great the bass sounded before he even got in the venue!! :D And after one of the sets told me that I was not helping with his G.A.S (we are talking about a guy who runs a Eden WTX-1000 and 2 Eden 410 cabs!).

I can’t get over how easy it was to get such a great sound out of the Puma 1000 head. With my old Markbass LMII I was tweaking constantly to get the warmer sound that I love (my Eden WT-800A is somewhere around the benchmark for me). The Puma just nails it straight out of the box – but the cab helps a lot too. As I mentioned in my previous post – I had compared my old Schroeder 1212L to it and the Schroeder was more dominant in the mids and highs, whereas the TecAmp has the kick in the lowmids that I am absolutely loving.

I had been considering a TecAmp 410 or 610, but honestly, after the gig on the weekend I don’t think I need another cab for this – esp given the fact that my band will be playing this venue for 4 months from June and the load in and out with this cab is easy peasy!!! I think I could almost get my loadin back down to 3 trips.

Oh, and given the Puma head is such a little head, and I have it rackmounted, one of the things I love about it is the fact that the DI is on the front – I no longer have to fiddle around inside the back of the cab trying to get that cable plugged into the right spot!!

This rig really is everything I loved about a big heavy rig packed into a small lightweight rig that is a dream to take to gigs.

I think my WT-800A may be on the market very very soon!!!

Thanks Jon for bringing in such an amazing product to this country!!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment